Who's counting? Astros' Alvarez gets 4-strike AB

by Daryn Albert - Astros slugger Yordan Alvarez got a four-strike at-bat after no one, including the plate umpire, noticed he took a called third strike in the third inning Wednesday against the Red Sox.

Houston Astros' Yordan Alvarez gets away with four-strike at-bat against Red Sox play Strike 4? Yordan Alvarez gets 4 strikes, but no one catches it (0:32) Yordan Alvarez takes strike three, but the at-bat somehow continues before he grounds out to first. (0:32) 6:57 PM ET Associated Press HOUSTON -- Astros All-Star slugger Yordan Alvarez doesn't need any help at the plate. He got it anyway Wednesday in Houston's 6-1 win over the Boston Red Sox when he wasn't called out after a third strike. Alvarez led off Houston's third by taking a ball against Rich Hill . After that, home plate umpire Jim Wolf called strike one, and Alvarez fouled off a pitch for strike two. Wolf then called the third strike but didn't punch Alvarez out. No one appeared to notice the mistake. Alvarez remained in the box, and Hill went back to the mound. Alvarez, who has 30 homers and 72 RBIs, grounded out on the next pitch. Editor's Picks Astros manager Dusty Baker said he didn't realize what happened at the time and was told about it after the game. "Everybody missed it," Baker said. Red Sox manager Alex Cora was not asked about the play.